Man Asian literary Prize 2012

What better way to kick off our new category with the announcement of the 2012 Man Asian Literary Prize winner !

 The Garden of Evening Mists – Tan Twan Eng (Malaysia)

The prestigious award was announced in Hong Kong on the 14th of March 2013. The Man Asian Literary Prize is an annual literary award given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English, and published in the previous calendar year. The judges choose a longlist of 10 to 15 titles announced in December each year, followed by a shortlist of 5 to 6 titles announced in January, and a winner is awarded in March. The winning author is awarded USD 30,000 and the translator (if any) USD 5,000. Submissions are invited through publishers based in any country. 

The short list of the 2012 award are:

 –            Between Clay and Dust – Musharraf Ali Farooqi (Pakistan)

–            The Briefcase – Hiromi Kawakami (Japan)

–            Silent House – Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)

–             The Garden of Evening Mists – Tan Twan Eng (Malaysia) *winner*

–            Narcopolis – Jeet Thayil (India) 

The Malaysian novelist’s The Garden of Evening Mists deals with the Japanese occupation in Malaysia, telling the story of war and relationships.

 More information and full list of novels available at

 About the author and the winning book:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s